Marriage Licenses

Prior to the Clerk preparing your marriage license please
complete the following forms.

Affirmation of Common Children  (*required only if both applicants have minor child(ren) in common)
Affidavit for Marriage License
Required Premarital Statement

Once completed you may do any of the following:
– email to marriage.lic@taylorclerk.com
– mail them to address below
– deliver them in person to the Clerk’s office

Marriage License Fees:

Couple, both Florida residents, neither took course
Couple, both Florida residents, both took course
Couple, both non-residents of Florida
Couple, one Florida resident, one non-resident, neither took course
Couple, one non-Florida resident, no course and one Florida resident who took course

Fee $86.00 – 3 day wait
Fee $61.00 – No wait
Fee $86.00 – No wait
Fee $86.00 – 3-day-wait
Fee $86.00 – No wait

 Q – Is there a waiting period for the marriage license to become effective? 
 There is a 3 day waiting period for Florida residents, which can be waived if:

  • The couple completes a Premarital Preparation Course from a qualified, registered course provider and presents the Certificate of Completion to the Clerk prior to obtaining the marriage license.
  • The couple must also sign the Statement of Family Law Handbook, acknowledging they have accessed the Family Law Handbook, and mark the section of the Statement that certifies whether or not a Premarital Preparation Course was completed.

Please note: There is not a waiting period when both parties are Non Florida Residents.

Q –  Can a marriage license be issued to someone who is younger than 18? 
 Florida Statute 741.04(1) does not allow for a Marriage License to be issued to a person who is younger than 18 unless:

  1. 741.04(1)(a): They are 17 years old and can provide written consent from their Parents/Legal Guardians, which is acknowledged by an officer authorized by law to take acknowledgments and administer oaths, And
  2. 741.04(2)(b): The older party to the marriage is not more than 2 years older than the younger party.

The Clerk’s Office will issue a marriage license to:

  • A 17 year old and another 17 year old, when they have both obtained Parental/Guardian consent, as stated above.
  • A 17 year old with Parental/Guardian consent, as stated above, and the other party is either 18 or 19 years old.

The Clerk will not issue a marriage license to a 17 year old, even with legally acknowledge Parental/Guardian consent, with anyone who is 20 years old or older.
The Clerk will not issue a marriage license to anyone who is 16 years old or younger.

Q – What are the requirements to obtain marriage license in the State of Florida?

Both parties must be present when applying for a marriage license, sign the application form and take an oath to the truthfulness of the information provided.

Both parties must provide proof of the following:

  • Identification: in the form of a driver’s license, state ID, military ID or passport.
  • U.S. citizens must provide their Social Security Number. Non-citizens may provide a Social Security Number or an Alien Registration Number issued by the Immigration and Naturalization Service. Also, a passport is an acceptable form of identification for non-citizens.
  • If either party has been previously married, you must provide proof of when the most recent marriage ended.
  • If either party has been previously married and the last spouse is deceased, you must provide a death certificate.

Q – Is there a time limit?

           The license must be used within sixty (60) days from the “effective date”.

Q – How long does it take to get a copy of the marriage record, and the costs?

You will receive a certified copy of the Marriage Certificate within 7 days after the officiator returns it to the Clerk’s Office to be recorded. There is no charge for the first copy. Additional certified copies cost $3.00.

Q – Can I be married in the Clerks Office?

No. The Taylor County Clerk does not provide this service.

Helpful Links
Family Law Handbook